Skip to main content

President’s Awards for Scientific Research 2020 (for publications in 2018)


The most prestigious research award ceremony in Sri Lanka, the “President’s Awards for Scientific Research” was held on 6th April 2021 at the Auditorium of Sri Lanka Institute of  Architects. Awards were given for the best 100 papers published in prestigious journals in the year  2018 where a significant contribution had been made by scientists working in Sri Lanka. The ceremony was held as an online event due to the pandemic situation. 

Prof. S. Thirukkanesh, Professor in Mathematics and Prof. F. C. Ragel, Professor of Physics from the Faculty of Science won the  “President’s Awards for Scientific Research” for their research article titled “Anisotropic generalization of well-known solutions describing relativistic self-gravitating fluid systems: an algorithm” published in the European Physical Journal C, 78, 31 (2018). 

Professor Thirukkanesh has won the award seven times (2008, 2009, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 & 2018) which is the highest among the EUSL academics and Professor Ragel has won the award five times (2008, 2014, 2016, 2017 & 2018).